GR User Forum

The spot for all Ricoh GR camera users

Register for free, meet other Ricoh GR users, share your images, help others, have fun!

Tell your friends about us!

Planning to buy GDR2 today & tried in 2 shops but......

TTam

Hi everyone, I'm new in here & also I'm a newbie in DC.

I planned buying the GRD2 today but after tested in 2 shops I found :

1. the AF cannot lock-in when I'm trying to focus an object within 2 - 3 feet. I have to switch to marco mode or away from the object further & it's okay.
2. taking snap focus mode of a scene away from me approx 7 - 8 feet, the pic is blurr ( out of focus ). A scene far away aprox 20 feet is okay.

Right now, I own a LX2 & the AF is working correctly 2 - 3 feet from object. I want to buy the GRD2 as it is also attractive to me in the way of the outlook & the great quality 28mm lens. However, it stops me when it seems that the AF is not the way I think.

Can anyone lighten me up ? Is it the problem of me that my skills & DC knowledge are not good enough to handle this cam & simply don't know the limits of the GRD2, or I have tried possible a defected one ?

Thanks for any input.

Hi TTam,
I'm still getting use to my GRD II and can help you on that first question. I found in my testing I can get focus
within roughly 15-18 inches and that is inside the house just using a fairly dim desk lamp, the book says 30cm or around
a foot which could be correct with the right lighting.
I played around ONCE so far with the snap mode and found it to be pretty neat. I was shooting at items in the house with very
low light that were about 6-10 feet away with not too much problem (focus was pretty good). I THINK it's fixed at 2.5 meters
or 8.2 feet in snap.

With the first issue it is possible that it depends if the focus was set at multi or spot in your case, but I don't know enough
about the camera yet to say so definitively. It may effect Snap too.