GR User Forum

The spot for all Ricoh GR camera users

Register for free, meet other Ricoh GR users, share your images, help others, have fun!

Tell your friends about us!

Extended Time Lapse battery questions.

tmcglasgow

I hope its ok starting this.... I am a visual artist about to do some extended work in a forest just north of here. I need to set up both of my Ricoh cameras to capture at least 18hours if not 48 or 72 hours of stop action film. The limitation of course is the battery. I've used the Ricoh on battery and also with the UK mains power charger.

I am wondering if I couldn't buy a couple of the mains power chargers, cut the line from the shoe that goes into the camera/battery slot and wire it to something like this?

Ravpower Specifications:
-Capacity; 10000 mAh
- Input: DC 5V / 1A
- Output 1: DC 5V / 1A
- Capacity; 10000 mAh
- Output 2: DC 5V / 2A
- Size: 5.31" x 2.75" x 0.55"
- Weight: 8.29 oz
- Product Warranty: One Full Year

For 18, 48 or 72 hours I think you will need mains power & a massive SD card.
I to am currently looking for a USB cable to tether my YSD-998 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery to a Ricoh RDC-7 because it will run from input when the camera battery is removed.
The rechargeable Li-ion battery has
Input 12.6VDC
Output 12.VCD 6500mAh
Output 9.0 VCD 8500mAh
Output 5.0 VCD 15000mAh
I got it to drive a camera slider motor 12v DC & am thinking of using it to run my Ricoh RDC-7 for time lapse.
If it would do 5 hours @ 1 frame per 30 secs. I would be happy.

Also there is a risk of over heating the camera with extended operating times which will lead to the camera shutting down.

Anyone have any thoughts on the efficacy of buying a mains power charger, cut the line from the shoe that goes into the camera/battery slot and wire it to this portable battery for extended camera life during time lapse photography?

-Capacity; 10000 mAh
- Capacity; 10000 mAh
- Output 2: DC 5V / 2A